Skip Navigation

Features the latest dance music news, interviews, music and tech reviews, podcasts & more...
Visit Juno Plus
Massive range of equipment and accessories for DJs and studio use.
Visit Juno DJ
The world's largest dance music store featuring the most comprehensive selection of new and back catalogue dance music Vinyl and CDs online.
Visit Juno Records
Reviewed this week
Cue Release play release
Oli Garch was last heard of covering Bryan Ferry; here he returns with five swingy cuts with a slight hip-hop bent. Things kick off with the Latin lounge-via-the-durrty-south vibes of "Rollin Stone", the instrumental "Oh My Man" goes way back for a Louis Prima-style sound married to trippy hoppy beats, "Get Your Enjoys" loops some vocals from a similar retro tune, whilst the two versions of "Hollywood Swings" explore the housier end of the electro-swing spectrum.
Cue Release play release
Mash-up king A Skills's label Insane Bangers went digital three years ago, and we've been lapping up his literally titled er, bangers ever since. This latest offering tells it like it is, and sees him "Drop The Funk" in a quirky 4/4 tough electro style with help from favoured collaborator Nick Thayer. Also Kymberley Kennedy lends her soulful vocals to choppy breaks nugget "Dead Ringer". So, that'll be another insane banger then.
Cue Release play release
Ray Lugo & The Boogaloo Destroyers' first full length, 2011's Mi Watusi, was a pitch-perfect tribute to Latin boogaloo, a distinctive fusion of dancefloor styles - think soul, funk, rhythm and blues, samba and mambo - which developed around New York's Harlem neighbourhood in the 1960s. This sophomore set delivers much of the same, with producer Lugo and his bandmates paying tribute to the genre in the most authentic of ways. Full of rasping horns, Puerto Rican vocals, Latin-influenced percussion and heavyweight funk rhythms, Que Chevere offers a thrilling and effervescent blast from the past packed with deliciously heavy and life-affirming highlights (check the jaunty "Batongo" and ludicrously percussive "Teremoto").
Cue Release play release
For his latest 'digital seven inch', David Hanke's Renegades of Jazz group have accepted the assignment of getting breaky. "Assignment B-Boy" blends Dick Tracey-era big band brass with chunky tough big beats. Meanwhile ROJ are joined by SEM for the retro 60s diva soul organ wig out of "Shocking Venus" (surely a nod to Shocking Blue?). Good times ahoy!
Cue Release play release
Pongo Love is an Angolan born, Portuguese resident of Buraka Som Sistema fame. Here she has lent some incendiary Angolan slang to "Duvido", the first taster from "Magnetico", Will 'Quantic' Holland's forthcoming new long player. The tune showcases his desire to merge African influences with his Colombian influences: uniting curulao from the Pacific coast of Colombia with the kuduro and semba rhythms of Angola. The album's looking good so far!
CAPITOL 1212 feat MAD - Worldwide Echo (Irish Moss) - exclusive 10-03-2014
BANDURA/SONO RHIZMO' - Resense 038 (Resense) - exclusive 31-12-2030
RENEGADES OF JAZZ - Rock To The Rhythm (Rawkingcuts) - exclusive 31-12-2030
MINIMATIC - Get Swingy EP (Tour Eiffel France) - exclusive 31-12-2030
VARIOUS - Shools Yard Breaks Vol 6 (Strictly Breaks US) - exclusive 31-12-2030
VARIOUS - Copperdollar The Back Of Beyond (Compiled By DJ Marc Stylus) (Freshly Squeezed) – exclusive  20-01-2014
Jayl Funk DJ Chart
Funky Boogie Brothers DJ Chart
Hammond Classics DJ Chart
Quincy Jointz DJ Chart
Top Labels
timewarp greece
Timewarp Greece
katakana edits
Tru Thoughts