Reviewed this week
Crate-digging reissue specialists Africa Seven has decided to flip the script on this fantastic album, asking a range of contemporary producers to "re-imagine" a string of rare soul, funk, Afrobeat and disco jams. Thrillingly for those who remember the original West London broken beat scene, the comp contains some killer "bruk" revisions - not least Silkie's brilliantly fluid and groovy take on Ekambi Brillant's "Soul Castle" and EVM's rolling, Bugz in the Attic style revision of M'Bamina's "Mosi Zole". Elsewhere, Appleblim delivers a typically fuzzy and bass heavy rework of Sorry Bamba, Dj Food chops up Sookie's organ-laden funk slammer "Rhythm on Rhythm" an IDM heroes Plaid join the dots between vintage African jazz and woozy electronica. In a word: superb.
Brazilian-born, UK-affiliated DJ Marky is and always has been a DJ's DJ. The man has been at the forefront of the d&b scene since the late 90s, not primarily on the production side but as one of the very few whose able to deliver an 8 hour set of immaculate transitions, sublime dubplates, and multi-faceted tunes. As such, he's been called up on the mighty BBE to deliver the second chapter of his Influences collection, a series of compilations made up of the finest, break-driven dance music on the planet. While many classics feature in here, such as Origin Unknown's "Truly One", Influx Datum's "Meant Love", or even the likes of Roni Size, this is NOT simply a d&b mix. On the contrary, you'll find peeps like Juan Atkins under his Galaxy 2 Galaxy moniker, soul master William Devaughn, and even house tunes by Cultural Vibe. What an absolute beast - yes, MARKY!
For those keen on early '80s jazz-funk explorations, the first EPfrom Mike Collins' Sun Palace combo, 1983's hard-to-find Winning, has long been at the top of the wants list. Happily, BBE has decided to make the in-demand B-side, "Rude Movements", available again via a tasty, Record Store Day 7" single. To fit the restricted playing time of the format, Collins has expertly split the original into two parts, subtly re-editing a few parts in the bargain. The results are sublime, with the glistening guitar solos, spacey synths and lo-fi drum machine hits of "Part I" just edging out the hazier "Part II".
Washington DC's resident anthem-mongers, Fort Knox Five, made a big impact with their Pressurize The Cabin LP which they heavily promoted for a few years. Then, last year they unveiled new material - the explosive Don't Go - and now they continue this momentum of freshness with another new cut, "Give It A Minute". Having been big fans of Boston MC, Bcap, they guys recently got him into their studio and the results are awesome. Super fresh party breaks duel with wah-wah guitars and future funk bass ensuring that this party continues to rock.
Sunsquabi teams up with New Orleans' Russ Liquid who is the future-vintage/ groove-blasting maestro that has stirred the souls and minds of the electronic music world. Renowned for his ingenious compositional approach, this cosmic virtuoso imprints a prophetic musical experience on his audiences. He detonates explosive beatscapes, seamlessly adding flourishes of instrumental color and emotion; all while drawing from an endlessly diverse sonic palette. SunSquabi on the other hand are a three-piece, live electronic experience. Hailing from Colorado, they have been picking up steam after a breakout year in 2016. This fine release comes courtesy of Detroit label All Good.
It's been a good while since the mighty DJ Butcher served us up one of his meaty selections of disco off-cuts for our listening pleasure. DJ "S" begins by tackling the mighty 70s jam "Shaft" - adding a thumping great house kick to bring it up to date. Elsewhere we get filtered French-touch style grooves on Vaudafunk's "Somebody's Stole My Nuggets" and HP Vince's "Funky Disco Party" is all about the hedonistic loops. Finally we end with an extremely familiar funk riff, toughed up to devastating effect on S Nolla's "Do You Wanna".

REE KEEN - Makeeni (Beatnik City) - exclusive 31-12-2017
TIMEWARP INC - Tropicaliente EP (Timewarp) - exclusive 13-04-2017
MISTER VAGZ - Katakana Edits Vol 48 (Katakana Edits) - exclusive 31-12-2017
WILL SESSIONS - Deluxe (Fat Beats)
DAYTONER - Shedits 3 (Cabin Pressure) - exclusive 22-04-2018
Top Labels
wah wah 45's
timewarp greece