Skip Navigation

Reviewed this week
Disco duo Yam Who? know a thing about re-edits, just take a listen to the endless back catalogue of their revered Midnight Riot label. Here they've recruited man about town Amp Fiddler, to rustle up an album's worth of scalpel jobs. There are 11 smooth gems here to groove to, some of our favourites including the meaty, meandering bassline and soulful vocals of "Superficial", the funky feminist clap-along "Steppin' (feat Dames Brown)" and the skippy garagey house anthem, "Funk Is Here To Stay". Sweet sounds.
Tico Torres is officially the drummer of Bon Jovi. However it appears that in his downtime he likes to produce underground dance music. Here he teams up with Audaz boss Alkalino for a short, sharp two-track single. The latter rocks up first to deliver "Beware Of The Dog", a super cool, sultry tech-house sizzler with echoes of Good Life and the kind of ominous vocal samples found in early rave. Torres meanwhile, delivers a more wholesome retro jam, "Truly", which delivers a swinging '60s groove complete with Hammond organs.
Stanton Warriors' Punks label is back with London's Trutopia who serves up the most infectious offering of UK funky this year with "Say You'll Stay (Basement Dub Mix)". It's all in the bassline as we know, plus those wicked R&B vocal samples work in perfect harmony. "Say You'll Stay (House Mix)" nails that UK funky house for a slightly more commercial house vibe that is sure to get some hands in the air moments on the dancefloor.
Seven years since the last Smith & Mudd album kissed our ears... Gorthlek is a long-awaited treat that's landed (by no coincidence we suspect) right at the start of prime sandy season. Picking up where they left us (together and as part of the Bison collective), it's every bit as soul soothing, soft-focus and poised as you'd expect. It's the weight and richness that will grab most fans the hardest; amid the floral pastoral instrumentation on tracks such as "Alrick" and "Gorthlek Part 1", there's real swampy bluesy fusion such as "Mr Coats", there's fiddle-flipping cosmic folk on "Enos" and naked piano striking drama on the closure "Gorthlek Part 2". Instrumental Balearic bliss.
De Fantastiske To are Ravi and Marius from Oslo, Norway who make feel good deep house vibes for fans of Arto Mwambe or Kollektiv Turmstrasse - like on the dreamy and melodic groove of "God Fallelse". The track gets a couple of kick ass remixes, such as by the likes of Yam Who? whose nu-disco odyssey ticks all the right boxes. But they save the best for last on the emotive high tech soul of "Ut Av Det BlA" which is the perfect accompaniment for a midnight drive down a Detroit freeway.
Regularly found doing the business for Rebel Hearts and Editorial, there can be no doubt that Jay Airness' disco edit credentials are up there with the best. On this EP for Trad Vibe there's no holding back, as "Turn Off TV" lays the cheeky samples on thick and the rhythm section gets a serious buffing for maximum soundsystem impact. Veering between hip hop-esque sampling and plush melodic content, it's a full-bodied jam that demands your attention. DJ Color C2 delivers an equally exuberant remix with a motorik thrum, while FabioLous rubs a leaner concoction out of the component parts.
Modern house hero Hot Since 82 (aka Daley Padley) can do wrong - slaying crowds around the world and having the likes of Pete Tong on speed dial. This one-off, one-track release, "Yourself" is purely built as a mid-set pacer, with a smooth and steady tribal house groove and suspended strings. Expect to hear this at the likes of DC-10 and Space all summer long!
Berlin's Clio has really hit his stride, appearing on a host of esteemed labels like 8 bit, Snatch and Metroline Limited but has become a real staple of Adam Beyer's labels Drumcode and Truesoul. For the latter he presents the Think Of You EP, three servings of fierce and emotive techno such as on dynamic opener "London Rave" with Yvan Genkins which stomps and shuffles in big room fashion like a Shed track. The title track is the kind of chugging and hypnotic peak time weapon that is reminiscent of label boss Beyer or Pig & Dan's work. Finally "No Shame" is a dark journey track full of atmosphere and a wonky synth lead which does great work, all carried by that nasty over driven kick; killer stuff!
Leigh Morgan is one of the three points on the Fancy Human power triangle (he's one of three label heads) and also has a strong reputation for delivering deep house on other labels too. Here he whips up three new sizzlers for our listening pleasure - the looped, mid pace back and forth grooves of "Dilly Of A Pickle", the distorted and woozy late 80s ecstasy vibes of "Pie On The Sly" and the malfunctioning stop/start electronics of "Almost Champion". The opener also gets a "Dubfloor remix" by Chocky, who turns in a warm and seductive late night '90s house joint.
Riddim Commission ain't messing about, and the UK producer comes through with another guaranteed party bouncer courtesy of Bullet Train, a label that he's already appeared on. "Dem Tings Dere" is a powerful, charging bassline rhythm with a 4/4 structure, but it's D Double's vocals that get the tune really going. The man delivers a fine set of lyrics that will appeal to any Londoner between the ages of 20 and 30 - a sort of 'we are the world' for the curtsied gullies.
VARIOUS - Soulful House Essentials Vol 14 (LW Recordings)
KYLA & CRAZY COUSINZ - Do You Mind (Ministry Of Sound)
CALVO feat NOUBYA - Light It Up (Armada Music Holland)
AMP FIDDLER - Motor City Booty (Midnight Riot) - exclusive 01-08-2016
MASON - Papapapa (Universal/Island)
VARIOUS - Cream Ibiza 2016 (New State)
Husp DJ Chart
Till Von Sein DJ Chart
Lempo DJ Chart
Kiu D DJ Chart
Top Labels
Z Records
ministry of sound
Strictly Rhythm