Home  Artists  

Paper Street Soul

Jamie Porteous - "Johnny Deep" - (4:50) 106 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Lanowa - "Gorgeous People" - (5:04) 120 BPM
Lovebreak - "Honestly" - (6:04) 118 BPM
Paper Street Soul - "Bobby's Song" - (6:24) 116 BPM
We Play Alone - "There's Something Up There" - (5:56) 120 BPM
Review: To celebrate the dawning of a new decade Citizens of Vice has decided to offer up a multi-artist extravaganza featuring contributions from a quintet of rising stars. Jamie Porteus kicks things off with "Johnny Deep", a wonderfully warm-and sun-kissed blend of bubbly electronic grooves, ear-pleasing melodies and subtle dub influences, before Lanowa goes down a deeper route on the warm, hypnotic and bass-heavy house cut "Gorgeous People". Elsewhere, Lovebreak's "Honestly" is a dusty sample-house shuffler, Paper Street Song's "Bobby's Song" is a glassy-eyed rework of an eyes-closed 80s soul jam and We Play Alone's "There's Something Up There" brilliantly joins the dots between drowsy deep house and sub-heavy UL garage.
COV 014
27 Jan 20
from $1.49
Idle Promises - (6:18) 118 BPM
Rain (original mix) - (7:27) 110 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Indigo Days - (7:25) 122 BPM
Rain (Ourra remix) - (5:05) 110 BPM
Review: After a sojourn on Sprechen, Paper Street Soul (Slync's Ian Stanford and Cuz Electric's Rich Hall and Megan Jones) return to their original home, Citizens of Vice, with arguably their strongest EP to date. Check first gorgeously sunny and humid opener "Idle Promises", a tasteful chunk of NYC freestyle-meets-Euro-disco cheeriness, before getting down to the fizzing p-funk synths, rubbery bass guitar and unfussy boogie beats of "Rain". Remixer Ourra delivers a superbly sun-kissed and undeniably Balearic nu-disco revision of "Rain" smothered in eyes-closed soft rock guitar solos, while "Indigo Days" is another hot-to-trot slab of squelchy electrofunk that should appeal to Prince and Parliament/Funkadelic fans.
COV 018
14 Aug 20
from $1.49
Colour (original mix) - (5:24) 116 BPM
True (original mix) - (6:44) 116 BPM
Wonder (original mix) - (7:19) 112 BPM
Colour (Massey's 'Murky' mix) - (7:06) 120 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
True (Hard Ton remix) - (5:54) 123 BPM
Review: What we have here is only the second ever release from Paper Street Soul, something of a nu-disco supergroup formed from the union of Cuz Electric (Rich Hall and Megan Jones) and Slync (Ian Stanford). Both sides of the equation have respectable nu-disco CVs already, so fans of the genre will be expecting good things, and they're unlikely to be disappointed. The three originals come on like Crazy P having a bout of 90s handbag nostalgia and Chris Massey's Murky Mix of 'Colour' is nice 'n' sleazy, but it's the stripped-down strut of Hard Ton's take on 'True' that snatches the gold.
SM 035
04 May 20
from $1.49
Always On My Mind (Sophie Lloyd remix) - (8:14) 116 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Moonpig (Simon Mills remix) - (6:22) 110 BPM
Fallin Down (Andy Buchan remix) - (6:58) 117 BPM
COV 012
29 Nov 19
from $1.49
Fallin Down - (5:08) 116 BPM
Always (On My Mind) - (6:17) 113 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Moonpig - (7:41) 110 BPM
Review: Paper Street Soul is a new project from some experienced producers/musicians, namely Slync man Ian Stanford and Cuz Electric's Rich Hall and Megan Jones. This is their debut EP and it's really rather good. Check first the languid Balearic disco goodness of opener "Fallin' Down", where eyes-closed guitar solos, swirling chords, hazy sax motifs and echoing vocals wrap around a laidback dub disco groove, before admiring the layered percussion, deep chords and elastic bass of superb deep disco-house cut "Always (On My Mind)". To round things off they take a relaxed trip into sweet nu-disco territory via the bubbly arpeggio bass, clipped guitars and colourful synthesizers of "Moonpig".
COV 008
22 Jul 19
from $1.49
From Beyond - "Hypersleep" (original mix) - (6:32) 119 BPM
Joe Morris - "Smoke & Mirrors" (original mix) - (6:52) 118 BPM
Brian SNR - "Hot Shot" (SNR's Hot Tub dub) - (6:28) 110 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Kooky & Damoon - "Confidence Of Ignorance" (dub) - (6:07) 112 BPM
Picotropico - "Threescodisome" (original mix) - (8:35) 106 BPM
The Secret Soul Society - "Comfort Me Soul Bird" (Reprise The Bass) - (3:25) 108 BPM
Danny Russell & Ronald Christoph - "Future's Gonna Get You" (original mix) - (7:03) 120 BPM
De L'Ivresse - "Field River" (original mix) - (6:04) 110 BPM
Jahn Solo - "Touch Me" (feat Barbara Roy - original mix) - (3:59) 120 BPM
JB Dizzy - "Freak Street" (original mix) - (7:36) 119 BPM
Paper Street Soul - "Nascially" (original mix) - (6:53) 116 BPM
Review: Number eight in the series, and do you really need us to tell you that it's an object lesson in how to do 21st Century disco properly? Tracks range from the Kraftwerk/Yello-isms of From Beyond's 'Hypersleep' to Kooky & Damoon's genre-defying 'Confidence Of Ignorance (Dub'), which tops a sumptuous, jazzy funk/soul cut with a liberal dose of acid squelch, and from Jahn Solo's Ecstasy, Passion & Pain-biting piano houser 'Touch Me' to the sleazy early 80s Berlin throb of Brian SNR's 'Hot Shot', with a side-order of syprupy soul courtesy of The Secret Soul Society. Big names may be in short supply here but adventurous, imaginative grooves are not!
PAPD 294
18 Nov 20
from $1.49


My filters

See all
See all
Release Date
Not Forthcoming
Last Week
Last 6 Months
Last Year
Add to Wishlist
Add to Chart
Add to Wishlist
Add all tracks to Chart