Reviewed this week
After a relatively lengthy hiatus, our main man Teffa returns to our charts with a side-winder of an EP for the ever-impressive Cue Line, making this its 21st release to date. Kicking of with the wayward "Tribe Dub", we're flung deep into a world of electronic bass steppers made up of the same ilk as Mala's original sound. "Phone Tapes" and "Warped Dub" are similarly heartical killers, engulfing the entire framework with cavernous levels of sub-bass and dread-spirit, leaving "Up In Smoke" to roll its menacing dubwise scatter over a slew of itchy percussion and dreadlock nuttiness. TIP!
As one of Holland's brightest dubstep up and comers, Hebbe has a lot of expectation riding on his shoulders from the dubstep community, having recently released upon J:Kenzo's Artikal music imprint to great success. This time he teams up with the Duploc network for a powerhouse EP, featuring two absolute corker originals. On the A side we hear the monstrous sound design of 'Float Yourself', complete with spacious percussive tones and spooky atmospherics. On the flip we the amphibian arrangement of 'Sword Art' which focuses more on bass rhythms, original synthesis and metallic snare sounds. What an EP this is to kick the year off for both Duploc and Hebbe.
After a highly lucrative 2017, being named as one of the UK's most exciting dubstep movements, Deep Dark & Dangerous are back to launch 2018 with an absolute belter of a release. The duo of Shu and Dalek One found great success towards the end of the year with their collaboration 'Mumble Dub', which itself was an instant dubstep classic. This time around Pushloop steps forward with his exclusive remix which incorporates a more reeve driven style of sound design, along with skippy drum patterns vocal experimentation.
There are few names bigger in the dubstep spectrum than Datsik. Throughout the last 10 years the Canadian heavyweight has worked non stop and solidified his name in the history books as one of the leading producers in EDM worldwide. His new 'Master Of Shadows' EP on the Firepower imprint summarizes exactly why this is, from the irresistible bass grooves of 'Ronin Riddim' and 'Bad Behavior', the electronic overloads of 'You've Changed' along with 'Freakuency' and the future bass driven lead synths of 'Pressure Plates' and 'Find Me'. The EP is then rounded up by the highly anticipated collaboration 'Warriors Of The Night' alongside Germany's Virtual Riot, which is an absolute banger we might add.
Deliciously dreamy material from the D and double D crew. A thoroughly international affair, this time we find Scotland's Khromi and India's Liquid Memoirs colliding for a woozy, soft-focus beat trip that's tailored for the cosiest of chill sessions. Liquid Memoirs concludes the set with two slightly heavier pieces; "Soul Search" balances chunky beats and lilting pads with a stately sense of contrast while "Panda" flexes on some heart-melting harmonics and a piano riff that layers itself up with lung-squeezing results. Dank N Dirty delights!
Being one the UK's standout bass music labels of 2018, we expected nothing less than a kickstart to 2018 from Brighton based collective: Southpoint. For STPT035 they join forces with Leominster's own grime hot shot Jakebob for a real journey of a six tracker. This EP explores the full breadth of Jakebob's highly melodic sound. For instance, the airy flutes across 'Wolf Whistle', the skippy choir driven arrangement of 'Dusties' alongside Lingers and the beautifully applied asian scales of 'Surai' in collaboration with Drax show a softer side of his production. On the other side of the EP we hear the more pulsating sounds of the title track 'Champion', 'Rago' in collaboration with Razor who lays down a lethal vocal feature. On remix duty, Albzzy steps forward with his fantastic dubstep rework of the 'Champion'.
VARIOUS - Deep, Dark & Dangerous (Remixes) (Deep Dark & Dangerous)
TEFFA - Warped Dub (Cue Line) - exclusive 29-01-2018
GANTZ - Dying On Acid (Deep Medi Musik)
B-SAY - B-say EP (Substantian Audio)
DATSIK - Master Of Shadows (Firepower)
Top Labels
Deep Medi Musik
Macabre Unit Digital