Home  Labels  

Particle Zoo Recordings

The Tunnel - (8:19) 125 BPM
The Lair - (6:40) 121 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Ghosts - (7:48) 124 BPM
Played by: Don Dayglow
PZR 0022
18 Jun 18
Minimal/Tech House
from $1.49
Sunrise On Reem - (4:38) 120 BPM
The Polyverse Is Revealed To Olaf - (4:27) 121 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Played by: Don Dayglow
Review: Aeon Musk has nothing to do with the Tesla founder, and is in fact a collaboration between brothers Adam and Daniel Hignell. The pair's aim is to make 'analogue synth space pop with a hint of WTF' and on Sunrise, it sounds like they have succeeded. The title track is a wonderfully low-slung electronic disco groove, supported by crashing drums and crisp claps. Even more impressive is "The Polyverse Is Revealed To Olaf". A truly cosmic, widescreen affair, it is led by epic synths, crashing guitar chords and a hint of Carpenter-esque sound track atmospherics. If left of centre electronic music is your thing, you should switch on to Aeon Musk.
PZR 0026
08 Oct 18
from $1.49
Motorboat Cavalcade - (7:38) 115 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Oh No! Starship Fighters! - (5:05) 84 BPM
Played by: Don Dayglow
Review: 'Motor Cavalcade' is the second single from Aeon Musk, a new project that sees Particle Zoo boss Ewan Hoozami (AKA Adam Hignell) teaming up with his brother Daniel. Synth-pop, John Carpenter and sci-fi soundtracks would be the key references here, with epic, sweeping synth lines underpinned by throbbing bass on the title track as a nagging, one-finger riff plays over the top, while lower-tempo B-side 'Oh No! Starship Fighters' leans most heavily on the latter influences and recalls the gleaming, 80s-inspired synth-disco of the likes of Sare Havlicek. Their debut album is coming soon, so keep 'em peeled.
PZR 0029
07 Jan 19
from $1.49
Big Poppa (original mix) - (6:21) 121 BPM
Big Poppa (Kellini remix) - (5:58) 120 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Big Poppa (Don Dayglow remix) - (6:06) 120 BPM
New Life (original mix) - (6:40) 120 BPM
New Life (Cuz Electric remix) - (6:24) 120 BPM
New Life (Belabouche remix) - (7:00) 120 BPM
PZR 0027
09 Nov 18
from $1.49
Mother's Ruin - (5:50) 116 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Mother's Ruin (Don Dayglow's RIP Boyd Jarvis remix) - (6:23) 116 BPM
Dea's Gone Dancing (Andy Buchan remix) - (7:29) 118 BPM
Dea's Gone Dancing (Stephen Richards remix) - (7:08) 113 BPM
Dea's Gone Dancing - (8:04) 113 BPM
Review: More from prolific duo Cuz Electric (AKA producer Rich Hall and vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Megan Jones), who have previously released material on Paper Disco, Alpaca Edits, Midnight Riot and Spincat Music. "Santa Cuz" (chuckle) marks their first release for Particle Zoo. There are two original cuts to choose from: the classic electrofunk/gentle piano house fusion of "Mother's Ruin", which features a particularly strong vocal from Jones, and the dreamier nu-disco flex of "Dea's Gone Dancing", where decidedly Balearic musical touches wrap themselves around a synth bass-propelled groove. The package also contains a trio of tasty remixes, of which Stephen Richards' rubbery and percussive dub disco take on "Dea's Gone Dancing" and Don Dayglow's dubbed-out, acid-flecked revision of "Mother's Ruin" - made in tribute to Boyd Jarvis - are our picks.
PZR 0021
07 May 18
from $1.49
Sunshine Tomorrow (original mix) - (3:07) 175 BPM
Sunshine Tomorrow (Playhead remix) - (4:09) 58 BPM
Sunshine Tomorrow (Charlie Cheatz remix) - (4:46) 180 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Sunshine Tomorrow (Dope My Wax remix) - (3:55) 165 BPM
Sunshine Tomorrow (Doc Moody's House remix) - (4:47) 182 BPM
Sunshine Tomorrow (Al's Pink Cellophane remix) - (3:59) 191 BPM
PZR 0018
30 Mar 18
Drum And Bass
from $1.49
Majlis - (6:31) 125 BPM
Kakrafoon - (5:31) 118 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Avian - (7:29) 126 BPM
Nightlight - (4:49) 127 BPM
Review: Following a well regarded outing on Fingerman's rock solid Hot Digits imprint, Don Dayglow returns to Particle Zoo with his first EP of 2019. There's much to enjoy, too, with the red-headed DJ/producer brilliantly wrapping exotic string sounds and drowsy synthesizer chords around booming sub-bass and chunky house beats on title track "Majlis". He takes to the mic on "Kakrafoon", drenching his impassioned vocals in delay and placing them in the centre of a shuffling, post-electro nu-disco fusion of crunchy beats and winding synths. There's a touch of Balearic disco/Italian dream house fusion to be found on the sun-kissed and driving "Avian", while "Nightlight" is skewed, bass-heavy and really rather odd.
PZR 0030
08 Feb 19
from $1.49
Put It Out - (3:53) 113 BPM
Kelenkye - (4:59) 117 BPM
PZR 0040
01 May 20
from $1.49
Geepound - (4:57) 125 BPM
Mutantra - (6:50) 123 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Trails (feat Jolene) - (5:25) 120 BPM
Qreepr - (5:12) 120 BPM
Played by: Don Dayglow, Rory Hoy
PZR 0015
12 Feb 18
Deep House
from $1.49
Sassenach Musique (original mix) - (6:01) 124 BPM
Sassenach Musique (Sweetooth remix) - (5:19) 124 BPM Biggest-selling track on this release
Sassenach Musique (Cuz Electric remix) - (5:49) 115 BPM
Sassenach Musique (Fabiolous Barker Inspiration remix) - (6:03) 124 BPM
Sassenach Musique ([sic] remix) - (8:28) 124 BPM
Review: Having recently tickled our fancy with a fine chunk of synth-heavy dancefloor soul on ISM (the Andre Esput-sporting "Gimme Dat"), Don Dayglow brings his kaleidoscopic take on electronic music back to Particle Zoo after a five-month absence. By his standards, "Sassenach Music" is a pretty grandiose affair, with intertwining synthesizer lines, doom-ridden bass and sweaty vocal samples combining on a whole-hearted tribute to early '90s house and rave. There are four accompanying remixes to choose from. There's a sparkling, piano-laden revision with a spine-tingling breakdown courtesy of Sweetooth, a dreamy, mid-tempo nu-disco revision by Cuz Electric, a slightly trancey electro-disco tweak by Fabiolous Barker and a fine, pumped-up house take by Dayglow's old Bristol pal [Sic].
PZR 0025
07 Sep 18
from $1.49


My filters

See all
See all
Release Date
Not Forthcoming
Last 6 Months
Last Year
Add to Wishlist
Add to Chart
Add to Wishlist
Add all tracks to Chart